An interesting thought about our Brain’s 100 Billion Neurons

Remember hearing that our brains have 100 billion neurons when we are born, and that with every glass of wine or cigarette we kill 10,000?  Didn’t 100 billion sound like an amazing amount?  I always wondered how I could have 100 billion connections inside my little brain……

I just participated in a discussion with a leading neurologist who cited the 100 billion number.  The first thought that came to my mind when I heard him say it, was “huh, 100 billion is not so much.”  I then thought, if 100 billion is not so many, what would be an amazing number?  700 billion, 800 billion, 1 trillion??????????

When our dear Uncle Sam can throw around 35 billion $, or 350 billion $, or 700 billion $, or another 800 billion $, is it really not such an amazing number?

How our perspectives have changed!!!! When 100 billion is no longer an impressively large number, and our US deficit for 2009 may well be $2 trillion!!!

